Currency - Money

  • European union

    © ATOUT FRANCE / Jean François Tripelon-Jarry

    European union

    © ATOUT FRANCE / Jean François Tripelon-Jarry

Currency - Money

As of January 1, 2002, the euro replaced the national currency of 12 countries within the European Union.

You can exchange currency at any bank branch.
And, automatic cash machines can be found in most commercial centers.

Overseas departments and territories

The French Caribbean islands (Martinique, Guadeloupe), French Guyana, Mayotte, Saint Pierre et Miquelon and La Réunion have changed their currency to Euro.
The French territories will keep the Francs (CFP). French territories are: French Polynesia, Wallis and Futuna, Terres Australes et Antartiques Francaises.

Bank Opening Hours 

Banking hours in Paris are usually  from 10am to 5pm,  Monday to Friday. Throughout the rest of France, banks are usually open from 10am to 1pm, and 3pm to 5pm, Tuesday through Saturday. Banks often close earlier the day before a public holiday.

Currency exchange

Currency exchange can be carried out at all bank branches and Post Offices. Bureaux de change can also be found in large department stores, railway stations, airports and near to tourist sites. Please note: although the exchange rate is fixed, commission rates are not. These must be clearly displayed.

For your information: 1€ = 6.55957 FF
                       1€ = 0.86 GBP
                          1 GBP = 1.16 €

Credit Cards

They are accepted in a large number of shops, hotels and restaurants. Shopkeepers often state a minimum amount required to be spent.

If you lose your credit card, immediately contact your credit card emergency hot-line to cancel the card, or call your credit card company's local office.

Things to see